Holy Cow!


So, I’m not really sure what’s happened, but it seems that I’ve just been sitting here and (voila!) a month has gone by and no post. That’s no good. Can’t have that.

Yeah – let’s change that….beginning now.

Let’s talk about something relevant – airport prices.

Okay, when was the last time you bought food at the airport? Let’s get into this. I’m going to start off by talking about this one time I went to the airport and was hungry, and had some money in my pocket, and had some time, and … well, I was hungry. I walked twenty gates past my gate just to find some place that offered something descent (healthy, well-priced, and tasty – I know, a tall order, but what the hell, I had some time). So I go all the way up and all the way back down, deciding on a quasi-French place called La Brea. They had sandwiches, soups, coffee, salads, seemed to be okay.

I order a veggie sandwich (VEGGIE, not meat, nothing fancy…veggie), and a regular latte.

$17 … yes, SEVENTEEN DOLLARS!

When the customer service representative gave me the price, I thought “What!?” Then I checked the menu, the prices, and yep, with tax, that’s probably about right. Unbelievable. In what world is it okay to charge $17 for a vegetables, bread, and coffee (okay fine, coffee with milk)? But you know what, I was the loser who paid these people. I mean, I’m kind of kicking myself right now. Because they know that people are hungry at airports and they don’t have another place to eat. So, if you put a restaurant in an airport, you get to name your price. Then, somewhere down the line, others put their restaurants in airports, and ideally, the price would go down.

But, if the price does go down, it’s not that much at an airport. I guess that’s capitalism, though, eh? But again, am I the dummy for paying that much for those items, or are they the jackholes for charging that much. Maybe a bit of both, depending on how you look at it.

Next time, bringing my own food.

Leave a Reply

