Christmas – Mandatory Purchase Required


christmas-consumerism

No.

That just doesn’t make any sense. Am I saying that I’ve never purchased stuff for Christmas before? No. Am I saying that I am not going to ever purchase something for Christmas again? No.

What I’m saying is I disagree with it. I don’t care about the religious aspects of things in this matter. You can be as religious as you’d like, but this really doesn’t have to do with religion. This has to do with Corporate America sliding it in gently.

Make a note. You DO NOT have to get gifts for people (family or otherwise) just because it is Christmas, or their birthday, or Valentine’s Day, or….whatever.

I know, I know. Now it makes me look like the bad guy because all these other people purchased/made/procured something for me, but I’m not playing Mr. Reciprocity. Well, that’s just the way it goes, I guess. I’m even less interested in being dragged into some purchase-related holiday because of guilt. It should not be anything having to do with me getting something for someone just because they got something for me.

Now. I realize that my feelings of Christmas have changed since I was a kid. Back in the day, Christmas was about me, and me, and Me. I was always thinking what I would get from others, or what was waiting for me under the Christmas tree. My father, of course, never disappointed, and I was a material winner every year. There was an understanding as the years passed that only children really have it good. That’s the truth; well that’s what I have found as well, especially when it comes to birthdays and holidays.

Look, if I want to get you a gift, I’ll get you a gift. I don’t need a holiday, a tradition, or a custom to let me know when that’s going to happen either.

Sorry. Rant over.

Leave a Reply

