End of the Year


…and everyone’s super grateful.

Holy cow! Finally. Yes, the time has gone by. Yes, there have been ups and downs. Yes, I’m smoked. I’m pretty sure everyone is. But, the important thing is that it’s here. Now, the question remains – how am I going to spend the summer. Well, I’ll tell you one thing I’m  not doing – going to school. That’s what I’m not going to be doing.

I’ll be writing. I’ll be writing a lot. For the first time I signed up for Camp NaNo, which…well, who knows what’s going to happen there. I have done NaNoWriMo three separate times, and although I think it’s enjoyable, it certainly has it’s strong points and areas for improvement. The idea (for those of you who do not know what it is) is that one writes 50,000 words in a month – the month of November, actually. Not really that bad if you think about it, but I would say it’s primarily geared toward those people who have a tough time getting their word count moving and just need some sort of motivation to do it. In that case, I think it serves its purpose. On the other hand, it’s not necessarily going to help you with plotting your novel, creating good character, voice, flow, outlines, or story. But it will help you just throw shit down on the page like you were coughing up ink in rapid violent fits.

My parents have been out for the past couple weeks visiting and it’s really been great to have them around. I always marvel at how swiftly time flies. I know it doesn’t really fly, it’s just a notion of our human perception going through life, but you know what I mean. Damn. It’s just so speedy.

I wish you all a fine week ahead and a great summer (working a 9-to-5 or not).

-lp

Leave a Reply

