Easter Eggs and Basketball


When I as a teenager, I remember getting pumped for college basketball season. I would get the hats and think the jerseys were cool. I would bug my father to spend over $100+ to get the latest pair of “Jordans” (the basketball shoe that had his name on it – not that he would ever wear it). I would be into the Tarheels, and the Georgia Tech Yellowjackets, and know all the big names.

But…..Looking back, I don’t know why it was the thing.

I think it’s fair to say that the high school era sort of just has its grip on us and we’re in its snare. We think we’re invincible (*I use that term loosely just because I’m pretty sure very few adolescents believe they’re actually invincible. There was a movie which came out when I was in high school called Juice, and if you watched that, you knew that high-schoolers weren’t invincible) and we have there certain quirks about us that are supposed to be a part of us at that time.

There were things we liked, celebrities we wanted to be, and foods we could eat tons of and still lose weight. It’s weird. I just don’t care about that stuff anymore.

I’m writing this because it’s college basketball season again and I’m trying to think of why I liked it in the first place. My heart does go out to a good friend of mine who lost a close member of his extended family this weekend. So for him, this year I root for Syracuse.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot. Tomorrow’s a really important day. You get to buy these on sale.

cadburyminieggs-sm

Leave a Reply

