TDSoH


The Dirty Streets of Heaven (Bobby Dollar, #1)The Dirty Streets of Heaven by Tad Williams
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was my first Williams book and my expectations for his writing were not let down. He has great metaphors and writes compellingly, keeping the reader engaged in the story. His language is not overwrought and uses some excellent descriptions at times which can be both witty and droll.
The story, I thought, was interesting – definitely meriting note for originality. It’s always kind of cool, I think. when someone can take the myth of Christianity’s origin and meld it with fantasy, which Williams did very nicely. He gives the reader all the ins and outs and creates a world full of as many believable answers as he can without making it seem as though he’s forcing his ideas to work.

I thought the story had some good spots, but it seemed that he kind of gave everything away in the last twenty pages, which didn’t make me all that jolly. I think I had some unanswered questions in the end just with character relationships, but in the end which book doesn’t?
The action writing was great, but it seemed always that the reader knew BD was going to get out of situations. Anyway, in the end I enjoyed the book, though I enjoyed his writing more. It turned me on to reading more in the future.

If you’ve read his books, shae your thoughts. I’d love to hear from you.
-lp

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

