Uncategorized

Homeland – a Drizzt novel


Homeland (Forgotten Realms: The Dark Elf Trilogy, #1; Legend of Drizzt, #1)Homeland by R.A. Salvatore

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’ve heard many good things about Salvatore from his fans and I tried the first of the Drizzt books. It didn’t do it for me. But this is not me saying the book was bad. ‘Good’ and ‘Bad’ are subjective terms; let’s not forget that. So, this is more me saying that I didn’t get into it. I give the man respect for pumping out that kind of volume of words, and for being successful in his career. It’s wonderful. The book just didn’t do it for me.
Why?
I think I felt like I wanted to care about the characters more. They just didn’t grab me. I wanted to feel more immersed in the world, and I wasn’t feeling it. But, then again maybe it was me looking at it too analytically or looking at it with too much focus on what it isn’t rather than what it is. I had about 50 pages to go. Couldn’t do it. The line that sealed it for me went something like, ‘Dinin reached for the scabbard of his sword, not a smart move.’ 
Thanks for the read.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Homeland – a Drizzt novel”

  1. I was laughing my butt off at how bad this book was.

    “They have Infravision allowing them to see heat” T-o Infravision would implies you see on the infrared spectrum (black and white). 😄 what made my laugh is in order to fix this they turned into darkvision….which still doesn’t let the drow see colour because they don’t like light, you need light in order to see on the visible light spectrum (drow are colour blind there is no way getting around it).
    *There is no point for a drow to see colour anyway seeing as most never leave the underdark.*

    😄 I love the thought of a lizard trotting (such swagger).

    T-o He reached for the sheath? you would think he would be trying to remove the dagger from the scabbard.

    1. Such a great post.
      Loved your citations from the text. They’re the perfect example of what makes this book just not the best writing. It’s too bad, I think, because there’s such wonderful fodder for good writing and wonderfully spun tales. Ah well. The ‘sheath’ and ‘scabbard’ example is one that just tipped the scales. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

