When the student is ready…


I am reminded again today not to seek wisdom or knowledge simply from those dressed in elderly raiment, for it is easily guised. I have returned anew to the words of an ancient master.

 

子曰:“三人行,必有我師焉。擇其善者而從之,其不善者而改之。”

How a man may find instructors for himself.
The Master said, “When I walk along with two others, they may serve me as my teachers. I will select their good qualities and follow them, their bad qualities and avoid them.”

At all times I am embraced by the teachings of my master, and in this recognition, will in those times be prepared to learn.  I am humbled and thankful for these teachings.

 

“When the student is ready, the teacher will appear.”

Source:

 

Legge, J. Confucian Analects. http://www.cnculture.net/ebook/jingsishu/lunyu_en

/07.html

Leave a Reply

