Happy New Year – 2013


Meeker HouseHappy New Year!

To you, Dear Reader, I wish you a very merry New Year. 2012 was fantastic and I was able to meet new people and make some new great friends.  For that I am very thankful.

I was discharged from active duty in the Navy in February and spent the next few months at home, waiting for class to start in June. It was a quick 6 weeks on the East Coast, but a memorable one. I was able to speak ZERO English during that time and made some great friends along the way.

That brings us to my first semester at Grad School (which zipped by, but not without a punch in my face), and the present moment.

I have been enjoying my time relaxing for the past few weeks and was able to spend time with my family in Eastern Washington and enjoy the marvelous gift of the presence of my grandmother, who’s 95.

New Year’s Eve found Kerrie right where we were nine years before, running around the tree in the back yard of

Remembering our path around the tree Nine years ago.

Remembering our path around the tree Nine years ago.

the house, and sharing a New Year’s kiss. *And no, I don’t know what kind of tree it is.

Resolutions?

Not sure. I’d like to be able to read more. I have loved getting on Goodreads, and tracking all my books, keeping in touch with friends, and staying up on what I would like to read. I know some people who are planning on reading the entire Wheel of Time series this year (4,056,130 words); yeah, I don’t know about that. I do plan to have my copy of A Memory of Light autographed, but reading the whole series this year? No, not in the plan. I will read it, but not this year.

This year’s priority is graduation, finally be together with my wife, find something to do (employment), and go from there.

Reading goals:

–       I would like to read at least 15 books this year. I’ve never really set a reading goal for a year, so I’ll start there and see what happens.

–       Read Snow Crash

At some point, I’ll go through the entire Wheel of Time, but let’s face it, that undertaking is of herculean degree, and requires massive meditative preparation.

To you all, thank you for hangin’ with me down this path. Love, Blessings, and Beauty in 2013.

Levi

 

Leave a Reply

