Uncategorized

Book Review: The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins


Image

**NO SPOILERS (besides the plot summary)

    Okay, I may be a tad dilatory in getting to this, but I did it. Why did I read the first book of this top-shelf young adult action trilogy? Because A, I wanted to see what all the tweenie-boppin’ masses were whining about, and B, because I was curious.
    I’ll admit, there’s some speed to this story. It’s a fast read and, in all fairness had me wondering how it was going to end.
    Now, after admitting that, I refer back to page 100 where she decided to put this sentence in there.

    “Don’t. Don’t let’s pretend when there’s no one around.”

WTF does that mean!? I’m asking you out there because I don’t know at all, and there’s no valid excuse you can give me that would validate it. It doesn’t make sense. Period.

    However, book one of the Hunger Games was, I thought, well-crafted. Collins has a great idea and presents it well for a young-adult audience. I am not going to read books 2 and 3. I think it should have stopped with one book, but that’s me. Who knows the reasons for why she kept going.

    All-in-all, if you’re up for something light and deals with mass killing and suited for young adults, by all means.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins”

    1. Jeannette – Sweet! Thanks for reading and for the opinions of books 2 & 3. I’m not looking at reading either, actually, but I appreciate the insight all the same.

Leave a Reply

