Uncategorized

Thanksgiving – 2010


 

Thanksgiving - 2010 Misawa, Japan

 

 

It’s almost two o’clock in the morning where I am in the world and the last thing I put in my stomach was a spoonful of a delicious sugared cranberry dish that a friend brought to our Thanksgiving celebration.  I’m stuffed, but very thankful.  I’m thankful that tonight I was able to spend time with friends and not think about anything stressful.  I’m thankful that I have friends, people who serve as my family when I’m far away from home.  I’m thankful that I can laugh with these friends about all parts of life, especially the ones that bring me pain, suffering or sadness.

It’s one of those things that many of us take for granted, I think – giving thanks.  Oftentimes it seems that society helps us cloud our sense of being thankful by playing on our desires. We get so caught up in what we want and what we expect that, many times, when we don’t get those things, we end up having “bad days”.  But, when we think about it, we have air in our lungs, we have our bodies, our health and the love of family and friends around us.  There are people in the world that don’t have these things.  My grandfather has reminded me of this often as a child when he spoke of the idea of crying about not having any shoes until he met the man who had no feet.  It’s the notion that there’s nothing else I truly need in this life.  I have it all; I’m wealthy, I’m healthy and I am loved by many people.  Many of us have everything we need, yet we look for more.  I liken it to being king of your own land and looking for more to own.

Thanksgiving is something that I’m glad we celebrate as a society.  I’m glad it’s recognized. Yet, I believe that we shouldn’t limit ourselves to thinking that we only give thanks on this day or and forget about it the others.  When we raise our young, perhaps we would be wise to teach them to recognize all the wealth that they already have and to be happy with it.  It’s the idea that seeking more for yourself is, in essence, not finding happiness and satiety with what you have now.

Thank you to all of you that have come to share these moments of your life with me.  I am grateful that our paths have crossed and cherish the time that we have now, as I don’t know when that time will end.  Thank you for the laughs, the tears, and everything in between.

Happy Thanksgiving

 

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving – 2010”

  1. Well said, my friend. I was reading all the fantastic comments on Facebook today regarding gratitude. I thought, “I wonder what it would be like if it was like this everyday.” Maybe it would get boring. How about every other day? Well, that may get old, too. 3 times a week? Even it was just three times a week where everybody put their attention on every thing we have be grateful for…

    I’m grateful for you, my friend. You’re an awesome man and we miss you in Hawaii. Have a good night’s sleep my braddah. We’ll have some tofurkey in your honor;)

  2. Pablo –
    You are always in my thoughts of gratitude, my bald brother. You are a true friend, a fellow bald laugher and a perennial inspiration to boot. We miss you too, Braddah. Tofurkey sounds delightful! Keep the game table open because once we get back, it’s Catch Phrase and I’m bringing my Alaskan pole with me. Titan and Malia can be the judges.

Leave a Reply

