The Big Idea: Brandon Sanderson


lpstribling:

Sanderson is an author I respect. I’ve said this before; he’s not an author I wold rank up there as one of the most incredible authors in the world, but I give him heaps of respect. He’s done so much to encourage the next generation to write and write boldly. That’s all he seems to do. Again, I honestly don’t think his skill in the craft is what it needs to be, but that’s my opinion. The point is he’s an incredible motivator and he leads by a wicked example. I don’t know, Your thoughts?

Originally posted on Whatever:

Don’t know if you’ve heard of this Brandon Sanderson kid, but something tells me one day he’s gonna hit the heights. He’s got a new book out called Steelheart, and he’s here today to talk about. And also to talk about being a geek. And how the latter matters to the former.

Watch for this guy! He’s gonna be big!

BRANDON SANDERSON:

Introduction
Early in my life, I knew I was a geek. I just didn’t know what that meant.

For example, I went to a Star Trek convention when I was eleven or twelve. Now, at that point, I’d only seen a handful of TOS episodes. I hadn’t discovered fantasy novels or reading yet. But I went to a Star Trek convention because…well, I was geek, right? That seemed like the sort of thing that geeks did.

Fortunately, it turns out my instincts about myself were right. During…

View original 1,220 more words

About lpstribling

Me? I write. I am in love with (aside from my wife, who's at the top of this list) all things "language." I love everything about them. I'm in Japan and life here is Japanese - that means that it's fantastic. Everything here is groovy and life is every day, in every way (even though I'm away from my wife - it could be worse and I'm just happy that we're together) - terrific! ~LP

Leave a Reply

